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California Health and Safety Code, Division 107 Statewide Health Planning and 
Development, Part 5 Health Data, Chapter 1 Health Facility Data.  
 
Section 128770. Penalties; disposition. 
 

(a)  Any health facility that does not file any report as required by this chapter 
with 

the office is liable for a civil penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) a day for each day 
the filing of any report is delayed.  No penalty shall be imposed if an extension is 
granted in accordance with the guidelines and procedures established by the office, 
with the 
advice of the commission. 
 

(b)  Any health facility that does not use an approved system of accounting 
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter for purposes of submitting financial and 
statistical reports as required by this chapter shall be liable for a civil penalty of not 
more than five thousand dollars ($5,000). 
 

(c)  Civil penalties are to be assessed and recovered in a civil action brought in the 
name of the people of the State of California by the office. Assessment of a civil 
penalty may, at the request of any health facility, be reviewed on appeal, and the 
penalty may 
be reduced or waived for good cause. 
 

(d)  Any money which is received by the office pursuant to this section shall be 
paid into the General Fund. 
 
(Added by Stats. 1995, c. 415 (S.B. 1360), § 9. Former 443.36  added by Stats. 
1984, c. 1326, § 7.) 
 
TITLE 22, California Code of Regulations, Division 7, Chapter 10.   Health 
Facility Data, Article 3. Required Reporting 
 
Section 97250. Failure to File Required Reports. 
 
 Any health facility which does not file any report completed as required by this 
article is liable for a civil penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) a day to be assessed and 
recovered in a civil action brought in the name of the people of the State of California by 
the Office for each day that the filing of the report is delayed, considering all approved 
extensions of the due date as provided in Section 97241.  Assessed penalties may be 
appealed pursuant to Section 97052.  Within fifteen days after the date the reports are 
due, the Office shall notify the health facility of reports not yet received, the amount of the 
liability, and potential future liability for failure to file reports when due. Sixty days after an 
original report due date as specified in Section 97211 (c), the MIRCal system will close for 
that report period.  No report for the period will be accepted after the MIRCal system 
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closure.  No additional penalties will accrue for outstanding reports after the MIRCal 
system closure for a report period.
 

TITLE 22, California Code of Regulations, Division 7, Chapter 10.   Health Facility 
Data, Article 4. Modification, Extension, and Appeal Processes 
 
Section 97052. Appeal Procedure. 

 
(a)  Any health facility affected by any determination made under the Act by the 

Office may appeal the decision. This appeal shall be filed with the Office within 15 
business days after the date the notice of the decision is received by the 
health facility and shall specifically describe the matters which are disputed by the 
petitioner. 

 
(b)  A hearing on an appeal shall, at the discretion of the Director, be held before 

any one of the following: 
 

(1) An employee of the Office appointed by the Director to act as hearing officer.  

(2) A hearing officer employed by the Office of Administrative Hearings. 

(3) A committee of the Commission chosen by the chairperson for this purpose. 

 
Authority: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code.  
Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code. 

 
Section 97053.  Conduct of Hearing. 

 
(a)   The hearing, when conducted by an employee of the Office appointed by 

the Director to serve as hearing officer or by a committee of the Commission, shall 
not be conducted according to technical rules relating to evidence and witnesses.  
Any relevant evidence shall be admitted if it is the sort of evidence on which 
responsible persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of serious affairs. 

 
 (b)  When the hearing is conducted by an employee of the Office or by a committee of 

the Commission, the hearing shall be recorded by a tape recording, unless the appellant 
agrees to provide a certified shorthand reporter at the appellant’s expense. If the appellant 
provides a certified shorthand reporter, the original of the transcript shall be provided 
directly to the Office. 
 

(c)  A copy of the tape recording or of the transcript, if made, shall be available to any 
person so requesting who has deposited with the Office an amount of money which the 
Director has determined to be sufficient to cover the costs of the copy of the tape recording 
or transcript. 
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Authority: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code. 
Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code. 
 
Section 97054. Decision on Appeal. 
 

(a)    The  employee, hearing  officer, or  committee shall  prepare  a  recommended 
decision which includes findings of fact and conclusions of law. 
 

(b) This proposed decision shall be presented to the Office for its consideration. 
 

(c)  The Office may adopt the proposed decision, or reject it and decide the matter as 
described in paragraph 1 below. 
 

(1)  If the Office does not adopt the proposed decision as presented, it will furnish a 
Notice of Rejection of Proposed Decision along with a copy of the proposed decision to 
appellant and, if applicable, appellant’s authorized representative.  The Office will provide 
appellant the opportunity to present written arguments to the Office.  The decision of the 
Office will be based on the record, including the hearing record, and such additional 
information as is provided by the appellant. 
 

(d)  The decision of the Office shall be in writing.  It shall be made within 60 calendar 
days after the conclusion of the hearing and shall be final. 

 
Authority: Section 128810, Health and Safety Code 
Reference: Section 128775, Health and Safety Code 
 

DISCUSSION: 
See attached Appeals Process for Civil Penalties. 
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 APPEAL DOCUMENTS 
 
If you choose to submit an appeal, the following documents may be used.  
Appeals should be submitted to: 
 
 

Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development 
Patient Data Section 
400 R Street, Suite 270 
Sacramento, California  95811-6213 
(916) 326-3935; Fax (916) 322-9555 
www.oshpd.ca.gov/HID/MIRCal/  

 

http://www.oshpd.ca.gov/HID/MIRCal/
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OFFICE OF STATEWIDE HEALTH PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT 

 
APPEALS PROCESS FOR CIVIL PENALTIES 

ASSESSED PURSUANT TO 
THE HEALTH DATA AND ADVISORY COUNCIL CONSOLIDATION ACT 

 
 
Right to Appeal 

 
Any health facility which has been assessed a penalty pursuant to Health and 
Safety Code Section 128770 may petition the Office for review of the penalty 
assessment.  An appeal must be filed within 15 business days of the day the 
facility receives notification of the penalty assessment.  The right to appeal is 
forfeited if an appeal is not either received by the Office or postmarked within 15 
business days of notification of any action or decision.  If an appeal is submitted, 
the facility is entitled to a formal administrative hearing within 60 days. 
 
 
How to Appeal 
 
The Office provides a form that may be used to file an appeal. Use of this form is 
not mandatory, but any appeal must be in writing and must include all necessary 
information.  An appeal must be signed by the licensee or administrator, unless 
they choose someone else to represent the facility. 
 
If the licensee or administrator chooses someone else to represent the facility in 
its appeal, the Office must be notified in writing of that delegation of authority.  (A 
form for this purpose accompanies the appeal form.)  The licensee or 
administrator should be aware that they will be bound by the statements and 
actions of an authorized representative. 
 

 
Informal Procedure 
 
For the convenience of health facilities filing appeals, the Office has established 
an informal appeal process.  The informal procedure does not require the facility 
to actually attend a hearing.  Review of the appeal is based on written materials 
submitted by the facility as well as the Office's records.  If a facility elects to use 
the informal procedure, it still has the right to request a formal hearing if it is not 
satisfied with the informal decision.  However, in order for a facility to take 
advantage of the informal procedure, it must waive its right to have a formal 
hearing held within 60 days. 

 



Effective March 2012 
 

The informal procedure works as follows: 
 
1. The facility files an appeal, requests an informal review, states the 

grounds for the appeal, and agrees to waive the 60-day limit. 
 
2. The Chief Counsel for the Office reviews the appeal, makes a decision, and 

notifies the facility. 
 
3. The facility has fifteen (15) business days from the date it receives the written 

decision in the mail to either accept it or to reject it and request a formal hearing. 
 
4. If a formal hearing is requested, one is scheduled. 
 
 
Formal Hearing 
 
Appeals are heard by an employee of the Office designated to hear such matters.  
Formal hearings are conducted substantially in conformity with the California 
Administrative Procedure Act. The facility may be represented by an attorney, but this is 
not required.  The hearing will be tape recorded.  The facility may, at its expense, supply 
a court reporter. 
 
Any relevant evidence offered will be considered if it is the sort of evidence on which 
responsible persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of serious affairs.  A 
recommended decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, will be 
prepared and presented to the Director of the Office.  The decision of the Director will 
be made in writing within 60 days of the conclusion of the hearing.  It will be the final 
administrative decision. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
References:  Health and Safety Code Sections 128770 and 128775 and Title 22, 
California Code of Regulations, Sections 97052, 97053, and 97054.  
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PETITION TO THE 
OFFICE OF STATEWIDE HEALTH PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT 

 
Facility Name  
 
Address  
 
Telephone  OSHPD Identification No.   
 
Authorized Representative (if any)   
 
Address   
 Street                                      City                            State           Zip Code 
 
Telephone   
 
Petitioner appeals the decision of the Office of Statewide Health Planning 
and Development dated                                                 . 
 
Check one 
 
 [ ]  Petitioner wishes to use the Office’s informal procedure. 
   We waive our right to a formal hearing within 60 days. 
 
 [ ]  Petitioner does not wish to use the informal procedure and requests a formal 

hearing within 60 days. 
 
This appeal is based on the following grounds:  (Attach additional pages as 
necessary.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Name*                                                              Title   

Please Print Please Print 
Signature                                                          Date   
 
Attachment(s)  [ ] Yes  [ ] No 
 
*Representatives other than the facility administrator or licensee must have written 
authorization from the facility administrator or licensee, which must be submitted with an 
appeal. 
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AUTHORIZATION TO REPRESENT 
 

FACILITY IN APPEAL 
 
 
                                                                                        is hereby authorized to represent 
(Name of Authorized Representative) 
 
 
  

Name of Facility 
 
before the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development.  This authorization 
extends to all communications between our representative and the Office concerning 
this appeal.  This authorization may be terminated at any time upon written notice to the 
Office. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    

Facility Administrator or Licensee Name Title 
 
 
 
 
    

Signature Date 
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