Associate Degree Nursing Scholarship Program (ADNSP)

Application Cycle: CLOSED#

Check back here for information regarding the next application cycle.

The Associate Degree Nursing Scholarship may award up to $8,000 for one year of school and can be awarded up to three (3) times. If awarded, recipients agree to twelve (12) month service obligation practicing full time, direct patient care at a qualified facility in California. 

“The HPEF scholarships I was awarded provided the financial assistance I needed to complete my ADN and BSN degrees.”

German Huerta, 2014 ADNSP Awardee


Find out if you are eligible for OSHPD funding.


Find out if a worksite is located in a Qualifying Shortage Area.


Create an account to stay notified of program updates or subscribe to program announcements.

Program Requirements#

Review the ADNSP Grant Guide for program guidance and requirements.

Eligibility Requirements#

To be eligible for the Associate Degree Nursing Scholarship, the applicant must:

  • Be currently accepted or enrolled in an Associate Degree nursing program 
  • Be enrolled in a minimum of six (6) units, or its equivalent until program completion
  • Have a GPA of 2.0 or greater
  • Graduate after June 30, 2021
  • Be free from any other service obligation
  • Be willing to work in a Medically Underserved Area for twelve (12) months

Location Eligibility Requirements#

Qualified facilities include those designated by The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Resources Administration (HRSA) or California’s Shortage Designation Program, a liaison to the federal Shortage Designation Branch (SDB) of Health Resources and Services Administration as Medically Underserved Area (MUA), Medically Underserved Population (MUP), Health Professional Shortage Area- Primary Care (HPSA-PC), Primary Care Shortage Area (PCSA), or Registered Nurse Shortage Area (RNSA). In addition to the Federal and CA state designations, any State, County, Veteran, or Correctional Facility qualifies as well as Native Indian Health Centers and Federally Qualified Health Centers.